The Fabulous Wonderful Awesome Book Sling!

Standard

I love slings!

I love this kind,

And this kind

Mei Tai

And even this kind

Ok, not really.  But one kind of sling I’ve been wanting ever since I knew it exsited is this kind of sling.

Hanging book display1

One for your books!  I would post some pictures of mine, but our digital camera batteries are dead.  So sometime in the near future I’ll add them in.   I found a tutorial at Penny Carnival, pulled out some old fabric  and whipped them up yesterday. 

Perhaps saying whipped it up is misleading.  That sounds like it was fast to make them, when it actually took me alot longer than I thought.  So I have a tip for you which is probably obvious to most of you  but I was not blessed with foresight this particular time.  Tip:  Get your hardware first.  Go get the dowels and brackets first and then sew the slings.  I got them after and had to unpick unpick unpick (I HATE doing that) and resew because they were the wrong length and the caseing was too small.  OOPS!  But mistakes are for learning, right?  So now I know and you know. 

I also learned something else.  I can’t do crafts anymore.  I actually learned this lesson once before, (see Here) but I guess it didn’t sink in.  It was like the straw that broke the camels back yesterday.  I was busy and the kids needed me so I got grumpy and they got grumpy and the house was dirty and my hubby scraped together some dinner and it was taking so long I couldn’t do anything else.  So.  I guess I’ll just do crafts after the kids go to bed, or better yet, I’ll just wait till they all are in school and then I’ll craft ALL DAY (yea right!) :).  Sounds good to me!

One response »

Leave a Reply

