I heart the Library!

Standard
HK Tuen Mun Public Library new books

Image via Wikipedia

I feel like I hit the jackpot at the library last time we visited. Chasing a 3-year-old around the stacks doesn’t leave me much time to be really choosy about the books I pick for her. I usually grab what looks interesting from the displays the librarians set out. They did a grand job this last time! So I thought I’d share the gems I (they) found.

“The Artist Who Painted a Blue Horse” by Eric Carle

Eric Carle is a giant in children’s picture books and this book is no exception. Vibrant (and silly) colors, simple engaging text, and a great message that it’s ok, even desirable to paint animals, or anything, in unusual colors. For a closer look, check out this video of the book.

 

“Dinosaur vs. The Library” by Bob Shea

To tell you the truth, I picked up this book because it’s a book my boys would have loved when they were little. I had no idea if my daughter would like it, but it made me feel nostalgic for the days when I was picking books for my little boys. They don’t let me do that much anymore. But my daughter likes it! And it’s such a cute, fun book. The pictures are simple and bold with a lot of action (and roaring!). Here’s a video!

“For Just One Day” by Laura Leuck

I picked this book up because it had a mirror in the back. My daughter loooooves books with mirrors. After I brought it home and was able to look at it closer, I was happy to see it also had really charming illustrations and a nice story about imagination and self-esteem.

April Sayre’s Book The Bumblebee Queen

“The Bumblebee Queen” by April Pulley Sayre

This one I actually found sort of on purpose. I wanted a non-fiction book that would be interesting to my 3-year-old but still smart. I saw this on the shelf and it fits the bill perfectly. The illustrations are bold but accurate and the text is simple yet informative with additional information for older readers. I even learned a few new things myself!  (Did you know that it’s bumblebees, not honey bees that pollinate tomatoes?)

“Up, Down,and Around” by Katherine Ayres

Speaking of gardens, this book is one of the best garden books for toddlers I’ve seen.  No dry, boring facts or contrived verses about these veggies.  With fun pictures and simple, repetitive verse this book shows clearly that veggies either grow up (corn), down (carrots), or around and around (pumpkins).  I love gardening and I’m excited about the starting point this book provides for sharing that love with my toddler once the gardening season starts.

Chickens to the Rescue”  by John Himmelman

Finally, the piece de resistance.  My 3-year-old loves this book.  I love this book.  The chickens are hilarious.  My daughter loves to yell “Chickens to the rescue!”  I’ll definitely be checking out his other books; “Pigs to the Rescue” and “Cows to the Rescue”.

What are your favorite picture books?  Have you ever found a surprise favorite at the library?

One response »

  1. Thanks for the ideas, they look great! I so relate to not being able to even look through a book at the library with my kids running amok among the isles. Usually all I have time to judge a book by is it’s cover! 🙂

Leave a Reply

