Thrifty Finds!

Standard

I love second hand shopping.  Thrift stores…. yard sales….. even dumpster diving!  There’s always something unique to be found.  So today I thought I’d share my latest finds at my local thrift store.

The Find of the Day: A mint condition box set of the 1978 printing of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings series.

Seriously, they look like they were hardly touched!  The spines on two of the books weren’t even bent.  It does make me a little sad that whoever owned these probably didn’t enjoy them as they deserve to be enjoyed but I am glad they were generous enough to donate them to the thrift store for others to enjoy.

 

My thrift store is getting tricky.  Or smart.  Usually all their jewelery and small accessories are piled on a shelf and you have to search through the dredges to find the one or two cool things hidden in the mess.  And of course, nobody buys the mediocre stuff.  Well, now they’ve started sorting everything into clear plastic bags and they’ll put one or two cool things in the bag and a bunch of mediocre things and charge $3 for all of it.  Not a bad idea, actually.  Well, as luck would have it, I found a bag with no less than 4 pretty cool things and so I bought the whole bag.

 

I was the most excited about this:

Sure, it’s a little rough around the edges but I think it could be absolutely fabulous with a little work.  Maybe a few more feathers, some lace to line the rough ribbon edges…. and it has a pin and a hair clip on the back so it’s versatile.  Love it!

This is also a favorite:

Best part about this one?  I don’t have to change a thing.  It looks great to me!

 

This one, on the other hand, needs a little something….

I’m probably going to throw it in the washer with a hand wash load and if it survives I’ll decide what to do next.  Maybe nothing.

I’m excited about the possibilities:

I’ve never seen barrettes like these!  They are whimsical and classic and I love them!  The question is, do I leave them as is?  Or do I create something new around them?  Necklace? Earrings? Bigger hair clip?  What do you think?

And all the rest:

So there’s some useful stuff in there. I could use the plain barrettes to make some sweet hair clips.   Lets just say I won’t be heartbroken if this stuff happens to get lost.

Have you had any sweet thrift finds lately?

One response »

  1. Wow! Score on the Tolkien! And those birds are awesome. I’d leave them, but I’m lazy. 😉 We have a couple of thrift stores not too far away. I should go see if they are any good.

Leave a Reply

