Favorite Childrens Books

Standard

I recently wrote about a book I was reading  called A Picture Perfect Childhood by Cay Gibson.  (Click Here for that post) Since reading the book and changing a few things about the books we read at our house, I have found a PLETHORA of awesome wonderful books!  The illustrations on alot of them are seriously breathtaking, and the stories hold me and my 5 year old captive. 

I also love how in the book one of her lists of recommendations are by month, and she has some interesting books about holidays.  She also has every month at least one book about each of these subjects: Art, Music, Poetry, Science/Nature, Language Arts, Shakespeare, Math, Geography, Fairy Tale, Myth, and Tall Tale.  I really liked branching out into all these different topics!  We got alot of the books recommended for November, and these are my favorites.  I would suggest most of these books for 5 and up.  The

Front Cover

The Tempest by Marianna Mayer/Lynn Bywaters 

                     A retelling of Shakespeare, the illustrations were beautiful, and the story compelling.

The Twelve Dancing Princesses by Marianna Mayer/ K.Y. Craft   

                      My daughter loved this one, again the illustrations are intricate and VERY well done.  The classic story-but well told.  My husband got tired of reading this one, it was pretty lengthy.

Pegasus by Marianna Mayer/K.Y. Craft

                      Another favorite of my daughter.  Again, AWESOME pictures, and the classic story of Pegasus and Bellerophon fighting the Chimera.  Warning for sensitive children: the monster is quite fearsome!

Louisa May& Mr. Thoreau’s Flute by Julie Dunlap and Marybeth Lorbiecki/ Mary Azarian

                         I had no idea Louise May Alcott lived near Henry David Thoreau!  This was a fun book about Louise writing her first poem at 8 years old. 

The Secret of Saying Thanks

The Secret of Saying Thanks by Douglass Wood/Gred Shed

                          This is such a feel good book!  Also a tear-jerker, but it doesn’t take much to get me to tear up!  When I first read this to my daughter, I had to pause for a bit to get my emotions under control, and she began to cry (very fake) as well.  Pretty hysterical.  Beautiful soft illustrations and a good reminder to give thanks in all things. 

The Wise Old Woman

The Wise Old Woman by Yoshiko Uchida/Martin Springett

                            Fun retelling of a Japanese fable, teaches the importance of valuing your elders, for they are wise!

My kids Favorites:

 

Davy Crockett Saves the World by Rosalyn Schanzer 

                               My kids both loved the over-the-top way in which the story is told.  Fun.  I didn’t love it, but my kids did!

Carnival of the Animals - Camille Saint-Saëns; Commentary by Barrie C. Turner; Illustrated by Sue Williams

Carnival of the Animals by Saint-Saens by Barry Carson Turner/Sue Williams

                                  This was so fun to listen to the music and read a little about each animal.  My 3 year old sat by and looked at the pictures, while my 5 year old just danced and danced and danced to the music.  Great book, great music.

 

So those are my favorites this month!  I’ll let you know what treasures I find next month- and you let me know some of YOUR favorite I can check out!

2 responses »

  1. Those are some awesome books. A little old for my (almost) 3yo and a little young for my boys. Maybe I’ll get them for myself. 😉 I love “The Funny Little Woman”. My boys love “Captain Raptor and the Space Pirates”. I know the title sounds cheesy but the illustrations are awesome and the story is exciting. I think your kids would love it. My 3yo’s favorite book at the moment is “Ten Little Catterpilars”.

Leave a Reply

