Costumes!

Standard
Ball

Image by macieklew via Flickr

Ack! I dropped the ball. I haven’t been able to get that homemade laundry detergent made and tried out in time for this week’s post. I’ll do it soon, promise!  And I’m so excited because it’s apple season and I can finally share with you my slow-cooker apple butter recipe.  Look for it soon!

Lately, most of my ‘spare time’ has been going toward getting costumes made for my kids. I’m making a Toad (from Mario Bros.) costume for my oldest and a Princess Peach costume for my youngest. Thankfully I already have a Mario costume for my second.  I only have so much ‘free time’ after all.  My husband will just have to fend for himself.

I already had a pattern for a princess costume that I could easily modify for Princess Peach but the Toad costume was going to be a challenge.  Lucky for me I have the internet!  I was able to use this tutorial to make the vest and this one to make the hat.  I’m thankful there are so many talented people out there who are willing to share with the rest of us.  You’ve saved me more than once!

If you’re still wondering what to do for Halloween costumes, take a look at The Costume Box on Craftsy.  It’s a whole video course on crafting costumes and accessories with minimal (if any) sewing.  Plus, it’s on sale!

What are you going as?

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

