My Favorite Kitchen Gadgets

Standard
Do the mashed potato!
Image by theilr via Flickr

And by gadget I mean something that goes beyond the regular kitchen stuff (pots, pans, spoons, knives) but not so far as to be an appliance.  A gadget is something that isn’t strictly necessary but makes cooking easier or more fun.  Oh, and they must be multi-taskers!  So here they are, in no particular order.

Hand Blender:  So useful and fun!  I use it to puree soups, crush fruit for jams, make single serving smoothies, mix homemade salad dressings, and more.  It also has a small food processor attachment that I use frequently as well.  I love that I can use this for small jobs instead of pulling out the big appliances.

Kitchen Scale:  I got it to use for a few things but I use it more often than I thought I would.  I weigh flour for bread, among other things, and I can’t tell you what a difference that has made in how well it turns out!  It’s an inexpensive model, but it works for me.

Microplane Graters:  For form and function, I think these are my favorite kitchen gadgets; so elegant and useful.  I got the standard zester/grater and loved it so much I got the medium ribbon grater.  I use the ribbon grater primarily to slice garlic into things, but it also makes awesome chocolate and Parmesan curls.  Mmmmm.

Here’s a close-up of the blades, just for fun.

Salad Spinner:  We eat a lot of salads and fresh greens, often unwashed, so this is a real time saver.  I had one with a pull handle that I liked better than this one, but it broke and I couldn’t find one like it as a replacement. 😦  But this one does the job so I can’t complain too much.

Timer/Thermometer:  I don’t cook meat much but when I do, I love that I can stick the sensor in the meat, set the alarm to the desired done temp, and walk away!  It beeps when it’s done, no guessing.  And I use the timer portion all the time.  Plus it has magnets on the back so it sticks to my fridge.  Sweet.

Stove top Grill/Griddle:  Not sure if this qualifies as a gadget, but I love it anyway.  Since I don’t have an outdoor grill, I use this instead.  I like that it sits on the stove top so I can use it if the power goes out.  Plus, since it has a griddle on the other side, I didn’t have to buy a separate appliance for that.  I do wish it was cast iron, but those are not available locally for some reason.

You can see that it is well used.

Bonus: Favorite and least favorite appliance

Bread Machine:  I got this bread machine as a wedding gift (12 years ago!).  I use it at least once a week to make bread.  I’ve replaced the bread pan once and it’s due to be replaced again.  I love that I can toss in the ingredients and 3 hours or so later pull out great bread.  It makes the house smell wonderful.  I especially love it in the summer because it means I can have fresh-baked bread without heating up the house with the oven!  That makes this my favorite appliance.

Food Processor:  I thought I would love this, but at best I’m ambivalent.  I hate to use it because it is such a pain to clean.  It shreds veggies really well, but I just don’t use it that much.  You can see the dust on it.  That makes it my least favorite appliance.

What kitchen gadgets do you love?

2 responses »

  1. I love my hand blender too! (That you gave me…) I don’t really have any other sweet kitchen tools- I just barely bought some measuring spoons- they really make a difference! 😉

Leave a Reply

