Home Cooking: Pizza

Standard
Pizza

Image via Wikipedia

I believe the first and best way to nurture ourselves, our families, and our world is to bring back the family dinner around a home cooked meal. That doesn’t mean we need to be a slave to the kitchen!  As a certain celebrity chef says, “a good meal is never more than 30 minutes away”.  (Seriously, that’s faster than take-out!)  So with that in mind, here is my solution to delivery pizza.

I never order pizza anymore because I can make two homemade pizzas in less time than it would take for the pizza to be delivered.  My secret?  Pizza Crust Yeast.  No, they didn’t pay me to promote their product.  I just love it!  What’s so special about it?  No waiting for the dough to rise!  And because of the way the recipe is written, the crust turns out perfect every time.  I use the 2 crust recipe because it lets me make 2 pizzas with only one packet of yeast.  While you are at the site, check out their other recipes:  dessert pizza, breakfast pizza, and some killer bread sticks (use fresh garlic).  You could have pizza for every meal!  Yum!

On to toppings:

In spite of the fact that I live in the Italian capital of the US, I believe that you can put anything on a pizza.  I am not kidding.  Black beans, spinach, broccoli, fish, sun-dried tomatoes, eggs….  You are only limited by your imagination.  I once put some leftover sauerkraut on a pizza and it was GOOD!  So look in your refrigerator and pantry and don’t be afraid to try something new.

Don’t have any marinara sauce?  Use olive oil!  No oil?  Whip up a white sauce with butter, milk and flour.  Or use cream cheese. Mmmmm.

No cheese?  Try ricotta or cottage cheese.  Or leave it off!  Anything goes!

I hope I’ve inspired you to give pizza a go.  Let me know how it turns out!

2 responses »

  1. Mmmm…. pizza! Thanks for the inspiration! Our pizzas usually look about the same but I’m totally willing to try something new/crazy! And if the spouse doesn’t like it, he can cook next time! P.S. that plate in your picture looks very familiar….. 🙂

  2. You’ve inspired me! Since we have lots of tomatoes right now, I made one with fresh, sliced Italian tomatoes, anaheim peppers, green onions, fresh parsley and that grated mexican cheese (sorry, forgot the name) – it was delicious! …and, yeah, that plate…

Leave a Reply

