Tie Dress

Standard

Thanks for all your responses to environmental issues, posted and un-posted!  I’ll be addressing a few specific issues in the coming weeks.  While I work on putting together some good information on that, I thought this week you might be interested in seeing my latest attempt at up-cycling.  I’m not the greatest seamstress, (despite my genetic heritage)  but I’m quite pleased with the outcome.  Here’s how I made my very own tie dress.

I picked up most of these tie’s from my local thrift store.  Usually their ties run anywhere from $2-$5 each, but every once in a while when they have too many they bag them up and sell 8-10 ties for $2 or $3 a bag.  I bought two bags and ended up using 12 ties for my dress.

In order to get the maximum amount of fabric per tie, I took all the ties apart by pulling out the thread that runs up the back of the tie and removing the thick tie interior.  Then I did my best to iron out the creases.  This made the ties easier to work with.

It may be a good idea to hand wash your ties before you start sewing just in case any of them decide to shrink. Or you could just dry clean the dress forever, but where’s the fun in that?

I sewed all the ties together lengthwise making sure the fat tie bottoms lined up and I ended up with this:

back

front

When I had enough ties sewed together to wrap all the way around me, I then decided how long I wanted the dress to be and I cut the top of the dress, making sure to leave enough fabric to make a hem.  I cut the top so that the back of the dress was a little lower than the front. I hemmed the top and added a zipper.  Obviously, the sewing is flawed and I’m sure yours will look better if you decide to make one yourself.

I took the thin pointed tie ends that I had cut off the top of the dress, sewed them so the tips were even, trimmed and hemmed the other side and used these strips as straps for the dress:

I sewed on the straps and Voila! A Tie Dress!

I love how the natural flare of the ties translates in to a flare in the skirt.  And if you wanted to accentuate the waistline a little more, it wouldn’t be difficult to shape the waist as you sew up the ties.

I teamed the dress up with a white sweater and a string of pearls and wore it around on Sunday.  I probably should’ve taken the iron to it again….

I think I’ll tie a ribbon or one of my extra ties around the waist for some extra flair next time!  If you make one yourself, let me know how it goes!

Thanks for reading!

9 responses »

  1. Sweet! You need to send me some ties. (People here don’t wear them much.) I bet you could make a cute dress or skirt for a little girl with clip-on ties….

  2. It is super cute! Just have to say – yesterday at piano lessons Kathleen said she loves your blog, and I must be so proud – and I am!

  3. Pingback: Upcycling « Nurturing Joy

  4. I love it! I’ve been slowly collecting ties for this same purpose, but I was thinking just a shirt. I love how the whole dress looks. Thanks for the inspiration!
    Adriann
    madamesaslow.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

